Grading in Judo

The purpose behind Judo Grades is that they should be a general indication of the level of the Judo player and this really should be consistent from Junior grades all the way to the highest Dan Grades.

Gradings at the club are held about three times a year, by invitation only. Judoka will be invited to grade when the coaches agree that they are ready for the next grade promotion, and they will be encouraged to grade on average once every six months.

Judoka need to be training regularly and demonstrating the required improvements in randori and technical sessions in order to be considered for promotion to the next grade. Ideally you will have also entered some competitions. Your attitude to training is important if you want to Grade to the next level. During the grading examination they will be required to demonstrate their knowledge of the BJA Grading Syllabus

If you are selected to grade then you must also have a valid BJA membership.

BJA Sho Grades

Judoka aged 5 to 7 yrs are graded within the Judo Kids Sho Grade system.  Here is a useful link to the BJA Sho Grade System.

BJA Mon Grades

Judoka aged 8 to 17 yrs are graded within the Mon Grade system. The grades are split by coloured Judo belts as you can see by our list below guide below.

Red belt (1st – 3rd Mon) Green belt (10th – 12th Mon)
Yellow belt (4th – 6th Mon) Blue belt (13th – 15th Mon)
Orange belt (7th – 9th Mon) Brown belt (16th – 18th Mon)

Here is a useful link to the BJA Mon Grade System.

BJA Kyu Grades

The Kyu Grade system is aimed at judoka 14 years and older as well as those who are between 14 and 17 years of age who already hold a Mon Grade and are converting to the next grading scheme.  Judoka who are over the age of 18 will automatically start on the Kyu Grade system. 

Here is a useful link to the BJA Kyu Grade System.


May your God go with you.